International Award of Excellence in Conservation 


    Created in 1995, the International Award of Excellence in Conservation is presented to honor individuals and organizations that exemplify the ideals expressed in BRIT's mission.  Honorees include scientists, conservationists, heads of state, philanthropists, Pulitzer Prize winners, politicians, and other notables.

    BRIT’s annual award event has played an important role in raising public awareness of our mission and has brought an increased understanding of the importance of conservation issues and environmental awareness. Through the education of our supporters, BRIT has added to the global efforts to save the diminishing resources of our planet.


    Recipients of BRIT’s International Award of Excellence in Conservation

     Recipients are listed according to the year in which they received the award: Carter P. Smith, Director of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (2016); Dr. Seymour Sohmer, Botanist (2015); Dr. Thomas E. Lovejoy, Tropical Biologist and Respected Environmentalist (2014); U.S. Green Building Council LEED specification originator, Robert K. Watson (2013); CNN founder, entrepreneur, and environmentalist, Ted Turner (2012); Brazilian rancher and conservationist John Cain Carter (2011); wildlife conservationist Ramona Seeligson Bass (2010); biologist Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D. (2009); botanist and author Peter H. Raven, Ph.D. (2008); philanthropist and conservationist Ruth Carter Stevenson (2007); environmental statesman Russell E. Train (2006); Winthrop Paul Rockefeller, Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas (2005); writer John Graves (2004); British botanist David Bramwell, Ph.D., director of Jardín Botánico Canario, Canary Islands (2003); Samuel A. Cooke, one of Hawaii’s foremost conservationists (2002); the Honorable Juan Carlos Navarro, Mayor of Panama City, Panama (2001); Texas Parks & Wildlife Commission (2000); Jane Goodall, renowned chimpanzee researcher (1999); Sir Ghillean Tolmie Prance, Ph.D., director of Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, England (1998); Mrs. Lyndon Baines (Lady Bird) Johnson (1997); the Honorable José María Figueres, former president of the Republic of Costa Rica (1996); and Richard Evans Schultes, Ph.D., Harvard University, world’s greatest plant explorer of the 20th century, and posthumously, to Cyrus Longworth Lundell, Ph.D., for his work in native Texas plants and his discovery of an ancient Mayan city (1995).