International Awards of Excellence


    To help raise awareness of conservation, in 1995, BRIT established an awards program to honor individuals and organizations whose environmental contributions and leadership best reflect BRIT’s core principles of conservation, sustainability, and wise stewardship of the land.  Our first award, the International Award of Excellence in Conservation is now in its 26th year. Recipients have included scientists, conservationists, philanthropists, government leaders (including a head of state), and the winner of a Pulitzer Prize.

    International Award of Excellence in Conservation

    In 1995, BRIT created the International Award of Excellence in Conservation to honor individuals and organizations that exemplify the ideals expressed in its mission. Recipients include scientists, conservationists, a head of state, philanthropists, Pulitzer Prize winners, government leaders, and other notables.


    International Award of Excellence in Sustainable Winegrowing

    In 2010, recognizing the natural connection between botany and winemaking, BRIT created the International Award of Excellence in Sustainable Winegrowing to applaud wineries that are taking a leading role in implementing sustainable practices and sharing their lessons learned. At this time, it is the only international award of its kind. The bases for the competition include: innovative sustainable practices in the categories of air, water, and land in both winegrowing and winemaking; social responsibility practices; economic responsibility; and wine taste.

    BRIT uses a placed-based evaluation ranking system to determine awardees. The overall winner receives the BRIT glass award sculpture and platinum medal, second place receives the gold medal, and third place receives the silver medal. The Sustainable Winegrowing award and platinum medal are given to the winning winery during a special award presentation held in Fort Worth, Texas in the spring.  Wineries that are actively demonstrating a commitment to sustainability are encouraged to participate. As the only international sustainable winegrowing award, BRIT hopes to attract progressive and passionate wine organizations from around the world that practice innovative “ground to glass” sustainable techniques.


    BRIT's 2018 International Sustainable Winegrowing Competition


    2018 Sustainable Winegrowing Competition Application


    List of Sustainable Winegrowing Winners by Year:

    2017 International Sustainable Winegrowing Winners

    2016 International Sustainable Winegrowing Winners

    2014 International Sustainable Winegrowing Winners

    2013 International Sustainable Winegrowing Winners

    2012 International Sustainable Winegrowing Winner

    2011 International Sustainable Winegrowing Winner

    2010 International Sustainable Winegrowing Winner